This event is endorsed
and organized by

9th EAI International Conference on Bio-inspired Information and Communications Technologies (formerly BIONETICS)

December 3–5, 2015 | New York City, New York, United States


Welcome to the 9th International Conference on Bio-inspired Information and Communications Technologies – formerly BIONETICS (BICT 2015)!


     Consistent with the goal of prior BICT/BIONETICS editions, BICT 2015 aims to provide a world-leading and multidisciplinary venue for researchers and practitioners in diverse disciplines that seek the understanding of key principles, processes and mechanisms in biological systems and leverage those understandings to develop novel information and communications technologies (ICT). This year, BICT takes place in New York City, NY, in the United States with the sponsorships by European Alliance for Innovation (EAI), ACM SIGSIM, Columbia University, University of Bremen and CREATE-NET.


     In addition to the main track targeting broad and mainstream research topics, BICT 2015 features a series of special tracks that focus on specific research topics

·  Artificial, Biological and Bio-Inspired Intelligence (ABBII), chaired by Tomohiro Shirakawa (National Defense Academy of Japan, Japan), Andrew Adamatzky (University of the West of England, UK) and Hiroshi Sato (National Defense Academy of Japan, Japan)

· Artificial Intelligence and Software Engineering (AISE), chaired by Richard Torkar (Chalmers and the University of Gothenburg, Sweden), Robert Feldt (Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden) and Junichi Suzuki (University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA)

· Anthropomorphic Robot and Physiological Information for Cares and Daily Communication (ARPI), chaired by Tomoko Yonezawa (Kansai University, Japan) and Hirotake Yamazoe (Ritsumeikan University, Japan)

· Biological Computing and Bio-medical Informatics (BCBI), chaired by Andrew Schumann (University of Information Technology and Management in Rzeszow, Poland)

· Bio-Inspired Communications and Computing (BICC), chaired by Byeong-hee Roh (Ajou University, South Korea) and Jeungwon Choi (Agency for Defense Development, South Korea)

·  BioNanoNetworks: Modeling, Design, Performance and Applications (BMDPA), chaired by Mohammad Upal Mahfuz (University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, USA) and Dimitrios Makrakis (University of Ottawa, Canada)

·  Bio-inspired Self-propelling Systems (BSS), chaired by Takahiro Nitta (Gifu University, Japan)

·  Bio-inspired Wireless Network Security (BWNS), chaired by Parisa Memarmoshrefi (University of Goettingen, Germany)

·  Complex Adaptive Systems (CAS), chaired by Saori Iwanaga (Japan Coast Guard Academy, Japan), Masao Kubo (National Defense Academy of Japan, Japan) and Hiroshi Sato (National Defense Academy of Japan, Japan)

·  Combinatorial Optimization (COP), chaired by Vincent Cicirello (Richard Stockton College of New Jersey, USA) and Junichi Suzuki (University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA)

·  Engineering Applications from Bio-Molecular Networks (EmNet), chaired by Preetam Ghosh (Virginia Commonwealth University, USA) and Michael Mayo (US Army Engineer Research and Development Center, USA)

· Game Theory and its Applications (GTA), chaired by Hung-Yu Wei (National Taiwan University, Taiwan) and Athanasios Vasilakos (Lulea University of Technology, Sweden)

· Molecular Communication and Networking (MCN), chaired by Tadashi Nakano (Osaka University, Japan), Junichi Suzuki (University of Massachusetts, Boston) and Michael Moore.

· Modularization for Practical Software Engineering (MPSE), chaired by Hiroaki Fukuda (Shibaura Institute of Technology, Japan) and Paul Leger (Universidad Católica del Norte, Chile)

· Swarm Robotics (SR), chaired by Andrew Vardy (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada)

· Topology-driven bio-inspired methods and models for complex systems (TOPDRIM​4​Bio), chaired by Emanuela Merelli (University of Camerino, Italy)

     This year, we have more than 140 paper presentations. We appreciate 200+ Program Committee members for their hard work in reviewing papers carefully and rigorously. With our congratulations to the authors of accepted papers, we believe that BICT 2015 delivers a high-quality technical program. In addition to paper presentations, we plan a session of poster presentations and keynote speeches by nine world authorities: Dmitri Chklovskii (Simons Foundation, USA), Adriana Compagnoni (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA), Simon Garnier (New Jersey Institute of Technology and Rutgers University, USA), Bud Mishra (New York University, USA), Emanuela Merelli (University of Camerino, Italy), Toshiyuki Nakagaki (Hokkaido University, Japan), Kazuhiro Oiwa (NICT, Japan), Maurizio Porfiri (New York University, USA) and Yechiam Yemini (Columbia University, USA). We also plan two topical tutorials by George Azzopardi (University of Malta, Malta) and Antonio Rodriguez-Sanchez (University of Innsbruck, Austria).

     We hope you will find the technical program inspiring, informative and enjoyable!


Our congratulations go to Best Paper and Best Student Paper winners!

The Best Papers of BICT 2015 are:

  • “Fast Redistribution of a Swarm of Heterogeneous Robots,” which is co-authored by Amanda Prorok (University of Pennsylvania, USA), M. Ani Hsieh (Drexel University, USA) and Vijay Kumar (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • “Identity Deception and Game Deterrence via Signaling Games,” which is co-authored by William Casey (Carnegie Mellon University, USA), Parisa Memarmoshrefi (University of Goettingen, Germany), Ansgar Kellner (University of Goettingen, Germany), Jose Andre Morales (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) and Bud Mishra (New York University, USA).

The Best Student Paper Award goes to “Biologically-inspired adaptive routing protocol with stochastic route exploration,” which is co-authored by Tomohiro Nakao (Osaka University, Japan), Jun-nosuke Teramae (Osaka University, Japan), Naoki Wakamiya (Osaka University, Japan).


     It is also our pleasure to host four co-located workshops

(1) The Second International Workshop on Brain-Inspired Information Communication Technologies (BIICT), which is chaired by chaired by Jun-nosuke Teramae (Osaka University, Japan) and Naoki Wakamiya (Osaka University, Japan),

(2) International Workshop on Bioinformatics, chaired by Ming Ouyang (University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA)

(3) The First International Workshop on Computational Models of the Visual Cortex: Hierarchies, Layers, Sparsity, Saliency and Attention (CMVC), chaired by Antonio Rodriguez-Sanchez (University of Innsbruck, Austria) and George Azzopardi (University of Malta, Matla)

(4) The First International Workshop on Physarum Transport Networks (PhysNet), which is chaired by Hans-Günther Döbereiner (University of Bremen, Germany).

We congratulate the workshop organizers for their accomplishments to bring out successful workshops!


The selection and organization of the BICT 2015 technical program relies on the contributions by Organizing Committee members as well as PC members. It was our privilege to work with these respected colleagues. Last but not least, special thanks go to EAI, particularly Sinziana Vieriu, for helping us organize BICT 2015 and publish this proceedings successfully.  


Junichi Suzuki (University of Massachusetts Boston, USA), General Chair

Tadashi Nakano (Osaka University, Japan), General Chair

Henry Hess (Columbia University, USA), General Chair

William Casey (Carnegie Mellon University, USA), PC Chair

Adriana Compagnoni (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA), PC Chair

Simon Garnier (New Jersey Institute of Technology and Rutgers University, USA), PC Chair

Mario Koeppen (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan), PC Chairs